Unit 5-6 2.2: Video Design

For this task we’ve been asked to reassemble “Monk”, to edit the footage into one continuous sequence using the different camera angles (Wide, OTS and Reverse) and make it look as professional as possible. We have been given footage from a single camera set up whereby the complete scene has been shot from three different angles. All three setups’ dialogue have different timing, and sound levels that we have to adjust. 

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

First I decided to watch all three videos to see how I could edit them together into one smooth sequence. While watching it, straight away I spotted a few problems that would later make the editing process slightly more difficult. Out of the 3 clips, one of them is wide screen while the other too are in standard form. On the Reverse shot, on the left hand side you can see the camera and camera man and like in all three shots when the therapist talks, the audio is not that great. You can barely hear him while the patient is loud and clear. But in terms of audio the “worst” was the Wide Shot.

screen-shot-2017-01-13-at-14-30-58

After watching all the clips, I went and chose the cuts I wanted to be included in the final cut. I payed close attention to the dialogue so I knew when to cut, who was speaking and make sure to show who was saying what. I alternated from showing the person that was speaking to showing both (because even though the wide shot was not the best, I wanted to use despise anything) of the actors. After I had finished editing and exported it, I realised that I should have shown the non-speaking person’s reaction (Like when the patient is explaining why he’s going on vacation, I should have briefly showed the therapist reaction while he was talking) as well but that was a detail I did not remember at the time of editing. But instead I opted for showing both actors to show their reactions.

screen-shot-2017-01-13-at-10-12-12

After I pieced the sequence together, I started to edit the cuts individually, but then rather then editing everything on clip then do the other I ended up editing the video by sections. First the timing and the visuals and then solve the issues with the audio. After I did all of this I also figured out how to crop the video so I could hide the camera that is shown on the Reverse Shot.

screen-shot-2017-01-13-at-10-12-25

In a few clips I struggled to get the timing right and to cut exactly where the other clip would finish as the dialogue timing on each clip were different and on the Wide shot clip you could tell it was recorded separately as the dialogue was slightly different then the others. In some clips I would just put then on another “channel” and tried to overlay it with the previous clip it was the only way I managed to get the timing right. This might seem like the more complicated way of doing it but it somehow worked for me, I noticed that by doing it like this the transition from one clip to another is a lot of smoother then cutting it. But then by using this method, I had to pay close attention to the dialogue to get the timing right on both clips.

screen-shot-2017-01-13-at-10-26-19

(Below) After I had all timing correctly and the conversation in the video flowed smoothly I started editing the audio.

 

screen-shot-2017-01-13-at-10-56-39

As I mentioned before the audio in a lot of the clips weren’t perfect, on the Wide Shot you could barely hear the therapist and you could hear the patient a little bit better, on every clip the patient was the one that could be heard the clearest so I had to play around with sound quite a bit so you could hear the actors better. For example, on the OST shot (that is pointed at the patient) the sound is nearly perfect but when you have to put it alongside the Reverse Shot (pointed at the therapist) then it sounds completely different, same with the Wide Shot. What I decided on doing later was to lower the volume on some and increased it on others.

screen-shot-2017-01-13-at-10-58-37

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

screen-shot-2017-01-13-at-10-55-16

Note that I put on clip without any sound (but with the sound of another clip), this is because I couldn’t get the timing right again so I did what I did before and instead of cutting it I overlaid it with another clip, but on that particular clip the sound wasn’t the best in that clip I used so I used the audio from the original clip that was there.

screen-shot-2017-01-13-at-11-09-20

As you can see on the left side you can see the camera and the cameraman shooting the OTS shot. To solve the problem, I figured out how you could zoom in the video to hide the camera. It also solved the problem that one of them was wide screen and the other two standard, it made the videos all the same.

screen-shot-2017-01-13-at-11-09-40

But in the process of cropping the video to make the camera disappear out of the shot, the watermark is also cropped so at the end of the video I added the same thing that the watermark said at the end of the video so I don’t infringe any copyright.

screen-shot-2017-01-13-at-14-29-22

 

Final Outcome

 

The Original

I went on Youtube™ to find the original version of this scene to compare to my edit and see how a professionally editing one looked using the same exact scenes. In this they have a seven cameras setup and we only got given three, so we had less to work from and the footage that we had was full of problems to solve. The scenes used in the original are longer, while the ones that we got given were cut short (Reverse Shot) so we were forced to use other one that weren’t as great (Wide Shot). Comparing mine to the original there is a huge difference because of this reasons and the fact that I’m not an experienced editor.

Another thing I’ve noticed is that in this version, they might have had a higher quality video to edit from. The reason why I say this it’s because in this scene the “Reverse Shot” and “OTS” you could see the other actor’s back of the head which gives it a feel that is an interview on tv rather then a scene from a TV show. But when editing I tried to zoom in a bit more to remove that so it would seem more like a scene from a tv show. But when you tried to zoom in a bit more, on our version, the quality of the video became poor.

But what made a big difference was the fact that the videos we were giving, the scenes were cut short so it became limited what we could do with this.

 

EDIT:

For the InDesign workshop, we had to import this video to indesign and talk about, but initially I didn’t export this video correctly and it was also on mov format and that was no compatible with InDesign. So I had to open the project again and export it. Turns out I had done some things wrong.

screen-shot-2017-01-20-at-09-40-44

Before I had just converted all the videos to standard, instead of putting them all to widescreen, that’s where I went wrong. But I was in time to correct it, to change the format all I had to do was go to File >> New >> Sequence and put it on HDV 1080p25 format.

screen-shot-2017-01-20-at-09-40-54

Then I just copied the content to the sequence.

screen-shot-2017-01-20-at-09-41-16

Then I had to adjust all the sizes of the videos and make them widescreen.

screen-shot-2017-01-20-at-09-41-58screen-shot-2017-01-20-at-09-42-06screen-shot-2017-01-20-at-09-43-10

After I fixed the videos and made it widescreen, I exported it. This time not forgetting to put it in the correct format so I could use it in any platform and software.

screen-shot-2017-01-20-at-09-49-39

The format has to be H.264 and then set it to HD 1080i 25, so it will be accepted on all softwares and you can upload it anywhere as it is compatible. This is something I didn’t know before, so a lot of the videos I did in the past ended up with poor quality and not HD like I wanted them to and I had shot them in good quality.

screen-shot-2017-01-20-at-09-55-41

 

 

UPDATE: At some point you can hear him say two times “Yes” but that’s because in the original footage that I watched he said “Yes…. yes” so I put that in.

Leave a Reply

