Unit 3: Career

Unit 3 Criteria:

1.1 Locate, access and use information to support own development.

2.2 Apply knowledge of working practices to support own development.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Task: List the top 3 companies that you would want to work for. What position would you want to do? Initial ideas of how you will get there?

  • Escapism Magazine, an independent travel magazine. Travel writer. Unknown
  • English First, an english teacher company in China/Russia/Indonesia. Qualifications needed TEFL/TESOL/CELTA and a BA degree. A lot of companies like this also ask for some experience and TEFL offers paid internships.
  • EPIK (English Program in Korea). English Teacher. Bachelor degree plus TEFL/TESOL/CELTA

Career Path

Untitled.png

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Opportunities

 

Creative Skillset

The Creative Skillset website has a database of information on different jobs within the media industry. I did some research on the two jobs I’m more interested on: writer and blogger/vlogger.

4Talent

The 4Talent websites has a lot of information on how the media works and everything you need to know on how to start a career within the media industry. It also has “Open4” with modules to teach about the media. I took the first test and I only got a 5 out of 10, I should do more to get my score up!

My Kinda Future

My Kinda Future is a website that helps you build a CV and get jobs.

Podium.me

screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-19-27-29

Screen Shot 2016-12-09 at 19.30.04.png

Podium.me is a website that lets you do podcasts and start your journalist career and it was on the list of websites to sign up for. I didn’t sign up for it because I don’t want to start it just yet but in the future I will definitely sign up for it and start doing podcasts.

BBC Academy

The BBC Academy is somewhat similar to Creative Skillset but instead of just giving information of jobs and how to get them, this gives tips on how to do that job and get them.

 

Leave a Reply

